logorrhea: diarrhea of the mouth

by lydiasee

I have used the phrase “diarrhea of the mouth” since before I can remember, and I couldn’t be more pleased to share with you, oh dear and few readers, that I have finally found the correct terminology to support said condition: logorrhea – excessive and irrational talking.

I learned about this word, and many other difficult to grasp words in the Descriptionary: a Thematic Dictionary that I bought at Nice Price Books in Raleigh on Hillsborough St, next to the best coffee shop ever, Cup-A-Joe. After making my purchases at Nice Price, which included a Hemmingway short stories anthology that I had once before but lent out and never got back, the James Lipton book An Exaltation of Larks (great condition 2nd edition, WOW!), ICS Reference Library New York Air Brake text book, and A Dictionary of Symbols. I had the most fun ever at this book store and adjacent coffee shop and it reminded me of all the old sitting and reading and drinking coffee I used to do so much. Whatever happened to that? This Cup-A-Joe had the best crazy thursday iced latte [huge], there was a smoking side and a non-smoking side and comfy chairs and good music. In fact, Violet Vector and the Lovely Lovelies came on while we were there.. I wouldn’t be surprised if it was college radio since we were right next to state.

Point being that I had this Raleigh/Chapel Hill trip and the most fun I had, other than seeing two of my favorite NC bands at Great8, was bumming around the coffee shops, book stores, vintage stores, and the science museum mostly by myself, which shouldn’t have come as that much of a surprise.

I bought a 40s style lace/linen dress at that vintage place on Franklin St. along with a beige/paisley lined vest, two half-slips, and a chinese knot-button shirt for a total of 30 bucks. Books were under 25 I think. I spent more on the Booze I wouldn’t ordinarily drink and the gas to get there than I did on anything else. But, such is life.

The Local506 show was fun, not my favorite venue, not my favorite crowd.  Actually, all in all, I probably wouldn’t go back to there unless I had to. The only good part was that there was a walkway to get out the back door that allowed me to shoot the drummers really well, and in fact, I think that the shots of drummers came out best of anyone else this weekend.

Big-ass picture overhaul this week. I know I have been saying that for a while, but it’s true this time. Truth be told, I’ve been a bit distracted this past few weeks, as always. This is why I should focus a bit, however I am still adjusting to the new place.. working all the time, still constantly shooting. Now,  believe all distractions have been set aside and again it’s time for work and introspection.

